Dangerous shaft left abandoned after mining activities ceased at the Lake Valley Mining District.

Construction of an airflow structure over the shaft. The culvert is held in place using polyurethane foam.

Finished airflow structure. The shaft is no longer a danger to the public and bat habitat is preserved.

New Mexico Abandoned Mine Land Program Survey Cap Logo

Abandoned Mine Land Program

It is estimated that there are over 15,000 abandoned mine features in the State of New Mexico.  They range from shallow prospect pits to 500 feet deep mine shafts to piles of coal gob (mine waste). 

The New Mexico Abandoned Mine Land (AML) Program and certain other abandoned mine land programs throughout the nation were formed by the passage of the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act (SMCRA) on May 2, 1977 (amended in 2006).  This law places a fee on active coal mines that varies depending on whether it is surface mined coal or underground mined coal. These monies are placed in a fund called the Abandoned Mine Reclamation Fund. This fund is used to reclaim coal mines abandoned prior to the enactment of SMCRA. Under certain conditions, abandoned non-coal mines may also be reclaimed.

The links to the right provide more information about the program.

Contact Information

John Kretzmann, P.E., Program Manager
Randall Armijo, Environmental Coordinator
Joann George, Administrator
Zoe Isaacson
, Reclamation Specialist
Steven Lakatos
, Culture Resource Manager
Sarah McGrath
, Project Manager
Lloyd Moiola, Project Manager/Archaeologist
Raymond Rodarte,
Surface Reclamation Specialist
James Smith, P.E., Project Engineer
Mike Tompson, P.E. , Project Engineer

(505) 476-3423
(505) 476-3426
(505) 476-3430
(505) 476-3417
(505) 476-3418
(505) 476-3408
(505) 476-3429
(505) 476-3428
(505) 476-3422
(505) 476-3427

john.kretzmann@state.nm.us
randall.armijo@state.nm.us
joann.george@state.nm.us
zoe.isaacson@state.nm.us

steven.lakatos@state.nm.us
sarah.mcgrath@state.nm.us
lloyd.moiola@state.nm.us
raymond.rodarte@state.nm.us
jamesr.smith@state.nm.us
mike.tompson@state.nm.us

State Forestry
505-476-3325
New Mexico Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department | Copyright
1220 South St. Francis Drive | Santa Fe, NM 87505
Webmaster   |   EMNRD Legal Disclaimer