San Juan panorama


The New Mexico Mining Commission was created in the 1993 New Mexico Mining Act as the rulemaking and administrative review body for the Mining Act. The Commission adopts all regulations implementing the Act. After receiving a petition to change or adopt regulations, the Commission holds a public hearing and decides which regulations, if any, to adopt. Anyone affected by actions or rulings related to the Mining Act regulatory program may appeal that action to the Commission if they do not agree with its provisions. The Commission will then hold a public hearing on the appeal, and decide to uphold or overturn the action. The Commission may also direct the regulators to address certain issues related to Mining Act implementation.

As stipulated in 69.36.6 NMSA, the Commission shall consist of seven voting members, including: (1)  the Director of the Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources of the New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology or his designee; (2)  the Secretary of Environment or his designee; (3)  the State Engineer or his designee; (4)  the Commissioner of Public Lands or his designee; (5)  the Director of the Department of Game and Fish or his designee; and (6) two members of the public and an alternate for each, all to be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. The public members shall be chosen to represent and to balance environmental and mining interests while minimizing conflicts of interest. No more than one of the public members and one of the alternates appointed may belong to the same political party. An alternate member may vote only in the absence of the public member for whom he is the alternate. The Chairman of the Soil and Water Conservation Commission and the Director of the Agricultural Experiment Station of New Mexico State University or their designees shall be nonvoting members of the Commission. 

The New Mexico Mining Commission complies with the New Mexico Open Meetings Act. For details, please review the most recent New Mexico Mining Commission Open Meetings Resolution.


Mining Commission Created
Mining Commission Adjudicatory Review Rules (19.10.14 NMAC)
Mining Commission Rulemaking (19.10.15 NMAC)

Voting ex-officio members

Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources: Nelia Dunbar, PhD; Virginia McLemore, PhD (Designee)

New Mexico Environment Department: James Kenney
Office of the State Engineer: John D'Antonio, Jr., PE
State Land Office: Stephanie Garcia Richard; Jack Yates (Designee)
Department of Game & Fish: Michael Sloane; Matthew Wunder, PhD (Designee)
Non-voting ex-officio members
New Mexico Soil and Water Conservation Commission: Dusty Hunt, Chair
NMSU Agricultural Experiment Station: Leslie Edgar, PhD
Governor appointees
Environmental Representative: Roderick Ventura
Industry Representative: Patrick Freeman
Alternate Environmental Representative: Kathleen Sanchez
Alternate Industry Representative: Erich Bower
Steven Romero, Assistant Attorney General
Office of the Attorney General
407 Galisteo St., Bataan Memorial Building
Santa Fe NM 87501
Phone: (505) 490-4060
Jane Tabor
Mining and Minerals Division
1220 South St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe, NM  87505
Phone: (505) Pending
Fax: (505) 690-8249
New Mexico Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department | Copyright
1220 South St. Francis Drive | Santa Fe, NM 87505
Webmaster   |   EMNRD Legal Disclaimer