District III - Socorro

Socorro District Office
HC 32, Box 2
1701 Enterprise
Socorro, NM 87801
Main Office Ph: 575-835-9359
Silver City Office Ph: 575-388-2210
Fax: 575-835-9452

The Socorro District is a large area, spanning the southwest corner of the state. It includes the seven counties of Catron, Dona Ana, Grant, Hidalgo, Luna, Sierra, and Socorro.  The main office is located west of Socorro on Highway 60 toward Magdalena. The satellite office is located on North Silver Street in Silver City.

One of the priorities for the Socorro District is providing technical forest management assistance to private landowners. This includes the Stewardship Program, the Forest Health and Insect Program, and assisting the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service with forest stand and wildlife improvement projects.  Other collaborative efforts including working with county teams, fire departments, and communities on fire suppression initiatives.  District staff also lead or assist on forest management practices and natural resource planning, like the Jornada and Black Range Resource Conservation and Development Programs.  The district's forest and watershed health continues to be the focus of many ongoing projects, as does the development of community forestry and conservation, including involvement in programs like Tree City USA and Conservation Days. 

Doug Boykin Socorro District Forester






DOUG BOYKIN has been the Socorro District Forester since 1992.  He is also responsible for managing New Mexico's Tree Farm program, which is sponsored by the American Forest Foundation to recognize excellent forest practices on non-industrial forest lands throughout the United States.

Nick Smokovich Socorro District Timber Management Officer






is the Timber Management Officer.  He has been with the NMSF since 2001.  He is originally from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and attended Slippery Rock University where he earned his Bachelor’s degree in  Park, Recreation and Natural Resource Management.  He assists landowners with forest management plans through the NM Forest Stewardship Program and as an inspector for the Tree Farm Program.  Nick inspects timber harvesting operations to ensure compliance with NM State Forestry’s harvesting regulations that supports sound forest practices.  Nick also works with local Soil & Water Conservation Districts (SWCD) and the Natural Resource Conservation Service (NRCS) to assist landowners who are looking for opportunities to implement hazardous fuel removal and defensible space projects.
Nick is the Socorro District Regional Coordinator for Firewise Communities in Catron, Doña Ana, Hidalgo, Luna, Sierra, and Socorro Counties.


Tom Zegler Special Projects Forester

TOM ZEGLER is the Special Projects Forester at the Silver City satellite office. Tom began his forestry career in 2006, earned a Master of Science in Forestry from Northern Arizona University in 2011, and joined NMSF in 2014. He performs site visits on state and private lands, writes multi-resource management plans for land managers and property owners, manages thinning projects for a variety assistance programs, and delivers conservation education messages and technical presentations to students and the general public. During the fire season, he is a dispatcher for Silver City Interagency Dispatch Center. Tom has a strong technical background in forest health and tree mortality; he knows the insects and diseases that kill trees. His main goal is to sharpen the axe of traditional silviculture with sound forest ecology and wield it to improve the health of southwestern forests.
Tom is the Socorro District Regional Coordinator for Firewise Communities in Grant County.

Return to index page.

New Mexico Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department | Copyright
1220 South St. Francis Drive | Santa Fe, NM 87505
Webmaster   |   EMNRD Legal Disclaimer