TITLING BOATS IN NEW MEXICO

What is titling?

How much does boat titling in New Mexico cost?

How do I make application for a title?

What happens if I don't title my boat right away?

What form do I use and how do I fill it out?

What is Titling?

Titling is the process that provides a chain of ownership to a vessel. Every motorboat (electric or gas powered) or sailboat (sail powered) over ten feet long must be titled. 

Titling of a new vessel must take place within 30 days of purchase of a new vessel. The vessel must also have a Certificate of Origin if new. (The Certificate of Origin is signed by the manufacturers authorized agent usually the vessel dealer unless you are able to purchase directly from the manufacturer.) 

 A manufacturer or dealer shall not transfer ownership of a new vessel without this certificate being supplied. A Title is then only granted if the vessel has the Certificate of Origin and is inspected to verify the Hull Identification Number (HIN). (Which can be done at any MVD office or with a state park ranger/sheriff/state police officer authorized to do so.) 

If the vessel has no HIN (It is Homebuilt), only then will a vessel be assigned a 12 character New Mexico HIN Number beginning with NMZ, then the serial number sequence from MVD (5 numeric characters only) and finally ending with the four characters that determine the month/year of manufacture and model year (see A.5. Figure 2 for vessels homemade after August 1, 1984 and Figure 1 for prior years).  Model year can be considered the year it was approved by the USGC.

The Title once made, must then be transferred from an original owner and/or dealer (sometimes a dealer will title a vessel in advance to speed up a sale) to another owner upon the next sale.

Titling protects a buyer from buying a stolen boat and helps law enforcement find a boat if it is ever stolen.

How Much Does Boat Titling in New Mexico Cost?

Titling Fees   $10.00

Duplicate Title (issued if lost)   $10.00

How do I make application for a title?

Application for vessel registration and title certificates is made to your local office of the Motor Vehicle Department (see the New Mexico State pages under the blue pages section of your phone directory or the link on the previous page). You may need to have it inspected (which many of the Boating Officers, MVD are certified to do) to certify that the hull identification number (also known as the H.I.N.), matches the hull number on the Certificate of Title and has not been tampered with.  

What happens if I don't title my boat right away?

The law requires you to make application to title the vessel within 30 days of acquisition and pay the excise taxes due.  If you fail to complete it within a 90-day period after the first date of acquisition, there is a penalty of 50% of the excise tax due on the issuance of the certificate of title.  During this grace period you are not authorized to operate you vessel on the water. It is also a good idea to have with you when transporting the vessel, your bill of sale with the proof of the date of purchase just in case you are stopped on the highway.

What form do I use and how is it filled out?

You will need:

  "Application for Vessel Registration and Title"   Form MVD-10003 Rev. 06/02

 

Filling it out is somewhat simple but you may want to copy the information below and double check the clerk at the MVD office since an error on this form will cause problems later on.

Top line

  • (New Mexico Registration Number) The registration number is the assigned number for the life of the vessel in New Mexico. This may be the registration number previously issued by an issuing authority. Example:  NM 1234 BZ.

Vessels with assigned numbers from another state, upon titling and registering in New Mexico, will be assigned a New Mexico registration number that must be affixed to the vessel after the old number is removed.

The registration number consists of 2 prefix alpha characters, 4 numeric characters and 2 suffix alpha characters. The registration card (known as a certificate of number) when you recieve it will have information on the card on how this number is placed on your vessel and also your validation decal and where it is placed in relation to the registration number you have put on your vessel.

When titling and registering, or registering, a vessel that does not have a former registration number assigned, the word "assign" in the “Registration Number” field will be placed and the computer will assign the next sequential number on your copy of this form.

The registration number that is issued cannot, by the U.S. Coast Guard guidelines have as any of the 2-suffix alpha characters the letters “O” or “Q”.  Check it.

  • (Hull Identification Number) Find and place here the specific permanently attached vessel serial number placed by the boat manufacturer. The HIN is no less than one-fourth inch high on each boat hull, in two places. Generally he main location is on the starboard transom above the waterline.  Currently it is 12 characters but may be soon expanded to 17.  Make sure the inspector copies it correctly.  Doing acharcoal rubbing may make difficult to read HIN's readable.

If you have a Manufactured Boat

The primary HIN is permanently affixed (so it can be seen from outside the boat) to the starboard side (right when viewed from the rear of the boat) of the transom within two inches of the top of the transom, gunwale, or hull/deck joint. Example: ABC123451272 or ABC12345M73E

If the HIN is missing, contact a State Parks Boat Officer.

If you have a Homemade Built Boat

An individual building a boat for their own use (not for resale) are referred to as backyard boat builders. They are assigned a 12 character HIN from MVD.  The MIC or “Manufacturer Identification Code” will be an abbreviation for the State followed by a “Z” which indicates it is a State identification.  Example:  NMZ123450203.  Make sure the MVD office you are dealing with does this correctly or it may result in a title that is difficult to transfer when your HIN code comes back to a manufactured boat and one that is already in existence.

  • (Make) Name of Manufacturer, builder or make
  • (Model) Generally found on the Bill of Sale. Models are also available on the web for the manufacturer. 
  • (Year) Model year, manufacture year or year built.
  • (State) State of last registration, or manufacture.

Second Line

  • (Horsepower) Horsepower total of motor(s).  Each vessel has a “Capacity Plate”. It is generally installed so it is visible from the operator’s station. In New Mexico, no vessel operator may exceed the maximum horsepower recommended for the boat. If the vessel is homemade or an older boat, the maximum horsepower is figured for small flat bottom boats by multiplying boat length times the width at the TRANSOM (not the Boat Beam Width).  If the answer is 35 of less max HP is 3. If 36-39 the max HP is 5. If 40-42 the max HP is 7.5. If 43-45 the max HP is 10. If 46-52, the max HP is 15. Note: for small flat-bottom and hard (close to right angle sided to the bottom) chine boats, with an answer of 52 or less, reduce one capacity increment. (eg. Go from 5 HP to 3 HP)
  • (Engine ID Number) Engine Serial Number is located in different places depending upon if the engine is inboard or outboard. Contact the Manufacturer if it is not immediately visible.
  • (Overall Boat Length) Boat Length is measured as the length of the hull from the bow of the vessel (excluding any anchor or bow sprints) to the stern-transom (excluding the ski platform and engine) in feet and inches.
  • (Boat Beam Width) Boat Beam is measured as the width of the hull from the top gunwale (upper edge of the boat’s side) on the port (left) side to the top gunwale on the starboard (right) side in feet. Round down to the nearest whole foot.
  • (Boat Transom Depth) Boat Transom is generally considered the back end of a vessel that is square ended. The transom is generally considered the lowest back of the vessel to which an outboard is mounted. The depth is measured from there from the top to the deepest portion of the hull at the back in feet rounded down from any fraction of a foot.  Example 4-1/2 ‘ is 4’, 4-3/4’ is 4’
  • (Passenger Capacity) Each vessel has a “Capacity Plate”. It is generally installed so it is visible from the operator’s station. In New Mexico, no vessel operator may carry more people on board that the number state on the vessel capacity plate.  Enter this number. If the vessel has no capacity plate then the following formula is used to determine the passenger capacity (Multiply “Overall Boat Length” by  “Boat Beam Width”. Take that product and divide by 15.  Round any fraction DOWN to the next lower persons. This is according to New Mexico law the LEGAL number of persons that may be on board a boat including children/infants.

    Length is measured along the centerline of the vessel from the tip of the bow of the hull to the back of the transom at the rear of the vessel

    Beam width is the width of the boat at the widest point.

  • (Passenger Capacity in Lbs.) Enter the weight number from the “Capacity Plate”. If no capacity plate enter “0”

Third Line

  • (Type of Use – Primary Use) Authorized Terms and Numbering are:

Note: In the NM MVD-10003 form ONLY numbering for #’s 1-4 are currently in use.

    1. Pleasure
    2. Rent or Lease
    3. Dealer or manufacturer Demonstration
    4. Commercial (includes Commercial Fishing)
    5. Charter Fishing
    6. Commercial Passenger Carrying
    7. Other Commercial Operation

To comply with the US Coast Guard Vessel Identification System, Code for 5-7

will be added to the next form update.

  • (Type of Boat) Authorized Terms and Numbering are:

Note: On the current form only numbers for 1,2,and 3 are used.

    1. Open Motorboat
    2. Cabin Motorboat
    3. Boat ( USCG has Auxiliary Sail (has a motor and sail))
    4. Sail Only
    5. Personal Watercraft (aka: - “jet ski” “Seadoo” “waverunner”)
    6. Pontoon
    7. Houseboat
    8. Rowboat
    9. Canoe/Kayak
    10. Other (Barges)

To comply with the US Coast Guard Vessel Identification System, Codes for 4-10

will be added to the next form update.

  • (Propulsion Type/Engine Drive Type)  Authorized Terms and Numbering are:

    Note: Use only 1-6 for coding at present.

    1. Inboard – Engine Drive Type with engine and drive train unit completely on board.       (Drives a shaft to a propeller under the vessel. Steers with a rudder.)
    2. Outboard- Engine Drive Type with engine and drive train and propeller as one unit (Typically mounted on the Transom)
    3. Inboard/Outboard or “I/O” also known as an “Inboard/Stern” drive - Engine Drive Type with engine inside the hull of the vessel and drive unit with propeller extended thru the stern transom
    4. Sail- Propulsion Type with Sails.
    5. Sail Auxiliary- Propulsion Type that is with both Sails and with Propeller.
    6. Jet Air-Propulsion Type currently used for both “Water Jet” defining a personal watercraft that is propelled with a pump that draws in water and redirects the stream of water out to move and steer the vessel, and “Air Thrust” propulsion type for vessels such as hovercraft or everglade boats.  “Water Jet” is the more correct propulsion type term for personal watercraft
    7. Propeller- Propulsion Type that has a mechanism that looks like a screw that pushes water to the back of the boat to move it forward.

    Note: On the current form the Propulsion Type and Engine Drive Type are combined under the heading Propulsion which will be corrected in the next reformatting of this form. There is no current separation of the two “Types” as is required by the US Coast Guard Vessel Identification System (VIS) for tracking purposes.

    •   (Hull Material) Authorized terms are only:

    Note: Only 1-6 is currently in use.

    1. Fiberglass
    2. Aluminum
    3. Wood
    4. Steel
    5. Rubber/Vinyl
    6. Styrofoam (and “Other”)
    7. Rigid Hull Inflatable
    8. Canvas

Note: To comply with the US Coast Guard Vessel Identification System, Codes for 7,8 will be added to the next form update.

  •   (Fuel) Authorized terms are only:

    Note: Use 1-3 Only.  Discontinue use of # 4. Sail which is covered under the heading of Propulsion Type

    1. Gasoline
    2. Diesel
    3. Electric
    4. Sail

    Note: To comply with the US Coast Guard Vessel Identification System, Code for # 4  Sail will be deleted from the next form update.

    • (Name and Address of Registered Owners(s))

    The following minimum information must be collected for a vessel that is numbered and titled and made available to the MVD/VIS.

    If individual(s)

        1. Names of all owner(s)
        2. Principal residence of one owner.
        3. Mailing address if different from the principal residence address.
        4. One of the following identifiers for the owner

        (Insert under “Remarks” on Form)

          1. Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)
          2. If the SSN or ITIN are not available, then birth date and driver’s license number.
          3. If the SSN or ITIN are not available nor driver’s license number then
          4. Birth date and some other unique identifier prescribed by the state.

      If a business or other type of organization(s)

        1. Names of all businesses or organizations that own the vessel.
        2. Principal address of one business or organization
        3. Mailing address if different from the principal business or organization address.
        4. One of the following identifiers

        (Insert under “Remarks” on Form)

        1. Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) for the principal business or organization.
        2. If the TIN is not available then one of the following identifiers for the business or Organization. (Insert under “Remarks” on Form)

          a.     Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)

          b.      If the SSN or ITIN are not available, then birth date and driver’s license number.

          c.       If the SSN or ITIN are not available nor driver’s license number then

          d.       Birth date and some other unique identifier prescribed by the state.

      • (Previous Title Number)  Any previous Title Number issued from out of state will be verified by MVD office before issuing a new or duplicate title.
      • (State)  State of issuance of any previous Title Number
      • (Previous Registration Number) Use registration number on vessel or former registration document. If it is not matching the Title, then a “Request for Hull Identification Number Verification" MVD 10705 should be used for any conflicts in the previous title or other ownership document. Use the federal USCG Document number if vessel was not originally registered with the State.  Check on-line to verify the federal documents.
      • (Sale Price) get a price and documents separate for the trailer and the boat or pay the excise taxes on both.
New Mexico Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department ©
1220 South St. Francis Drive | Santa Fe, NM 87505
EMNRD Legal Disclaimer
Webmaster