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Free Boating Safety Education Courses Offered 
 

EAGLE NEST AND RATON, NM – Boat New Mexico, basic safety education courses will be offered 
this spring and summer at Eagle Nest Lake State Park and in Raton, NM. Class sizes are limited 
and students are highly encouraged to register in advance.  
 

WHAT: Boat New Mexico Basic Safety Education Course  
 

WHEN: April 20, May 18, June 15, July 20, August 17 (8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.)  
 

WHERE: April, June, and August held at Eagle Nest Lake State Park Visitor Center. May and July 
held at New Mexico Game and Fish Offices, 215 York Canyon Road, Raton, NM 87740. 
 

WHY: All motorboat personal watercraft and sailboat operators born on or after January 1, 1989, 
must complete a boating safety course. (This means operators 24 years of age or younger, and 
even those 13 years and younger being supervised by an adult on board.) 
 

WHO: The course is FREE and is instructed by state park officers or state park certified volunteer 
instructors. For more information, call (575) 377-1594.  
 
The National Association of State Boating Law Administrators has approved this eight-hour 
boating safety course. The course provides students the opportunity to interact with an 
experienced boating instructor and to network with other boaters. Students must score 80 percent 
or higher on the closed book exam to receive their Boater Education Card, which is honored in 
almost every state in the country.  
 
Passing students will receive their certification and a coupon for two nights of camping for the 
price of one at any New Mexico State Park. In addition, many insurance companies offer 
significant discounts on boat insurance, with proper certification.  
 

Processing of the actual education cards can take up to 45 days; therefore, plan ahead and sign 
up early. Proof of boater education must be carried aboard during boating operations. Children 12 
years old or under must wear a personal flotation device (lifejacket) approved by the U.S. Coast 
Guard while on the deck of a moving vessel.  
 

State Park officials remind boaters to always wear a lifejacket when out on the water and to be 
aware of weather conditions.  
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The New Mexico State Parks Division offers FREE boating safety classes around the state and 
online throughout the year. For more information, call 888-NMPARKS or visit www.nmparks.com. 
 
 

Boat Safe, Boat Smart, and Wear Your Lifejacket! 
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Short Trips, Long Memories: Your Best Recreation Value Close to Home 
 

The Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department provides resource protection 
and renewable energy resource development services to the public and other state agencies. 
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