New Mexico Boat Accident Reporting

 

Vessel operator involved in an accident must:

  • Stop vessel immediately at scene of accident and …
  • Assist anyone injured or in danger from the accident, unless doing so would endanger your vessel or passengers and ...
  • Give, in writing, name, address, and vessel identification to anyone injured and to owner of any property damaged by the accident.

 

Each operator involved also must:

 Report the accident immediately to the local law enforcement agency and …

 File a Boating Accident Report with New Mexico State Parks Boating Safety

within 48 hours of the accident.  Address is 1220 St. Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505.

 If it caused:

 

       Death or…

       ●  Personal injury requiring more than standard first aid (EMS service

and/ or hospital visit) or

  • Disappearance of any person under circumstances that indicate the possibility of death or injury or
  • Damage to vessel or other property exceeding $100.

 

New Mexico Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department ©
1220 South St. Francis Drive | Santa Fe, NM 87505
EMNRD Legal Disclaimer
Webmaster